Ski Lessons in Zell am See: Prices, Schools and Meeting Points
For ski lessons in Zell am See, the Skischule Zell am See and Sport Alpin teach in English, with meeting points at the areitXpress gondola, about 5 minutes on foot from Hotel Der Schütthof; Frost Center and Outdo also teach on the Schmittenhöhe. Compare age limits and course days; for skiing mostly on the Kitzsteinhorn, book a Kaprun school.
My personal highlight: a few runs on the Schmittenhöhe, with the glorious view over Zell am See and the surrounding mountains.
Ursula Auer, Hotel Der Schütthof
For ski lessons, the hotels' ski instructor, Jürgen from the Skischule Zell am See-Kaprun, is at the main reception of Hotel Latini next door for any questions, and courses can be booked there; he teaches in English too. If you are staying over New Year or in the February holidays, the hotel recommends booking your lessons in advance: get in touch with the hotel, and it will give you Jürgen's contact details.
Which ski schools teach in English?
In Zell am See, both schools at the areitXpress do. At the Skischule Zell am See, lessons are held in German or English as standard and most instructors speak both, the school says; other languages, such as Dutch or Russian, are possible on request but never guaranteed. At Sport Alpin, every instructor speaks German and English.
Outdo says it teaches its group lessons in English, Danish and German. Frost Center does not publish its teaching languages: ask for English and get it confirmed in writing, as its terms entitle you to a particular language only if it was expressly promised in writing.
The hotels' own ski instructor, Jürgen, teaches in English as well.
See free rooms and current rates in the hotel booking engine.
Booked with the hotel itself, no booking portal in between.
Ski schools in Zell am See compared
| School | Where you meet | Youngest age | How to book |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ski & Snowboardschule Zell am See | Offices at the areitXpress, cityXpress and trassXpress valley stations; 6 meeting points across the Schmittenhöhe | 3, in the Mini Club | Online, or at its offices, open daily 8.30 am to 5 pm, December to April |
| Sport Alpin | Office with a meeting point at the areitXpress in Schüttdorf; more meeting points on the mountain, at the top stations of the trassXpress, areitXpress and cityXpress | 3, in the Kiddy Club | Online, with tickets sent by email, so you need not call at an office; offices open daily 9 am to 6 pm |
| Frost Center | 10.15 am at the Schmittenhöhe top station (children in the Kids Zone), reached on the Schmittenhöhebahn | 4 | Online shop |
| Outdo | Address: Schmittenstraße 8, Zell am See; it teaches on the Schmittenhöhe, so ask for the meeting point when you book | Ask for the youngest age when you book; its children's ski school takes children up to 14 | Ask the school |
Book before you travel: the Skischule Zell am See recommends booking online so that your place is guaranteed, and if you simply turn up at its office for a private lesson, it cannot promise that an instructor will be free.
How much do ski lessons cost in Zell am See?
At the Skischule Zell am See, five full days of group lessons cost from €306 (2026/27 prices) and a private early-bird hour from €85 (season not stated); at Sport Alpin, five days of adult group lessons cost from €283.50 (season not stated). The Skischule Zell am See gives starting prices, which vary with the time of season and availability. Booked online, its adult group courses cost up to 10% less than the list price, and its private lessons are cheaper online depending on the season. Where a school gives no season, check the price when you book.
| Group course, price per person | Lesson times | 5 days | 3 days | 1 day | Season |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skischule Zell am See: Mini Club, ages 3 to 5, beginners | Sunday to Thursday, 10 am to 12 noon | from €285 | from €215 | from €85 | 2026/27 |
| Skischule Zell am See: Kids on Ski, full day, ages 4 to 11 | 10 am to 12 noon and 1 pm to 3 pm | from €306 | from €252 | from €99 | 2026/27 |
| Skischule Zell am See: Kids on Ski, half day, beginners up to 8 | 10 am to 12 noon | from €270 | from €202 | from €81 | 2026/27 |
| Skischule Zell am See: adult beginners | Sunday to Thursday, 10 am to 12 noon and 1 pm to 3 pm | from €306 | from €252 | from €99 | 2026/27 |
| Sport Alpin: Kiddy Club, half days, ages 3 to 5, beginners | Sunday to Thursday, 10 am to 12 noon or 1 pm to 3 pm | from €279 | from €211.50 | from €85.50 | not stated |
| Sport Alpin: children, full day, beginners from 5, children who can already ski from 4 | Sunday to Thursday, 10 am to 12 noon and 1 pm to 3 pm | from €310.50 | from €243 | from €99 | not stated |
| Sport Alpin: adults | Sunday and Monday, 11 am to 12.30 pm and 1 pm to 2.30 pm; Tuesday to Thursday, 10.30 am to 12 noon and 1 pm to 2.30 pm | from €283.50 | from €220.50 | from €90 | not stated |
| Frost Center: children, with lunch and supervision, ages 4 to 14 | Sunday or Monday to Thursday, 10.30 am to 1 pm and 2 pm to 3.30 pm | €414 | €306 | from €118 | 2026/27 (online shop) |
| Frost Center: adults, from 15 | Sunday or Monday to Thursday, 10.30 am to 1 pm and 2 pm to 3.30 pm | €319 | €249 | from €99 | 2026/27 (online shop) |
| Outdo: group course, children and adults | 9.30 am to 12.30 pm | €285 | €240 (3 or 4 days) | not stated | not stated |
A group runs with at least 4 participants, the Skischule Zell am See says, and if a group shrinks to 3, the school may merge groups or shorten the lesson time. Outdo puts its groups of 4 to 10 people together by age and ability.
| Private lesson | Price, season not stated |
|---|---|
| Skischule Zell am See: early bird, 9 am to 10 am | from €85 for 1 person, €25 for each extra person |
| Skischule Zell am See: 2 hours, 10 am to 12 noon | from €193 for 1 person, €35 for each extra person |
| Skischule Zell am See: 4 hours, starting at 9, 9.30, 10 or 10.30 am | from €351 for 1 person, €35 for each extra person |
| Skischule Zell am See: Private Family, 4 hours a day, starting at 9, 9.30, 10 or 10.30 am | from €395: the parents (one or two adults) pay, and up to 3 children aged up to 15 join free; online pre-booking only |
| Sport Alpin: 2 hours, 11 am to 1 pm | from €189 for 1 person, from €27 for each extra person |
| Sport Alpin: 4 hours, 10 am to 12 noon and 1 pm to 3 pm | from €319.50 for 1 person, from €36 for each extra person |
| Frost Center: private lesson, ski or snowboard | from €189 |
| Frost Center: Family Joy family lesson | from €249 |
| Outdo: 2 hours, 1 pm to 3 pm | €170 for 1 person, €190 for 2, €210 for 3, €230 for 4 |
| Outdo: 4 hours | €340 for 1 person, €390 for 2, €440 for 3, €490 for 4 |
| Outdo: children, 2 hours from 1 pm | €140 for 1 child, €160 for 2, €180 for 3, €200 for 4 |
Sport Alpin runs private lessons every day, with the meeting point by arrangement; for private lessons, it also lists a VIP service with hotel pick-up.
Which ski schools meet at the areitXpress?
Two: the Skischule Zell am See and Sport Alpin, both at the areitXpress, the gondola from Schüttdorf up to the Schmittenhöhe. The Skischule Zell am See's office A is at the valley station: its Mini Club meets there, or at office C by the trassXpress, at 9.45 am, and its half-day courses for beginner children run only at these two stations. Sport Alpin's office at the areitXpress, opposite the Areit car park II, is also a meeting point for lessons; its offices at the cityXpress and by the central bus station in the town centre are not meeting points for group lessons.
Right by the valley station, Schmidolins Zauberteppich (Schmidolin's magic carpet) has an extra-wide, gentle practice slope and a covered conveyor belt that takes beginners back up, with ski schools, ski hire and places to eat close by.
To the cityXpress valley station in town, the bus is easier than the train; in winter, take the ski bus. Our guide to skiing in Zell am See covers the lifts up the Schmittenhöhe from Schüttdorf, the town and Viehhofen.
From what age can children join ski school?
From 3, in two-hour beginners' courses for small groups: at most five children per instructor in the Skischule Zell am See's Mini Club, and at most five per group in Sport Alpin's Kiddy Club. The Skischule Zell am See says it also offers 3- and 4-year-olds the Kids Taster, a 55-minute private lesson, and takes children from 10 on its snowboard courses.
Full-day groups take children from 4: the Skischule Zell am See's Kids on Ski for ages 4 to 11, and Frost Center's children's course for ages 4 to 14. At Sport Alpin, beginners join the full-day course from 5, and children who can already ski from 4. The half-day Kids on Ski course is for beginners up to 8 only.
The Mini Club holds a small race every Thursday, and every five-day course at Outdo's children's ski school ends with a treasure hunt. There is no Mini Club from 27 December 2026 to 2 January 2027, from 14 to 27 February 2027 or in the Easter holidays. For a family week planned around the children, see family holidays at Hotel Latini next door.
How many ski lessons does a beginner need?
For beginners, the Skischule Zell am See recommends a course of 3, 4 or 5 days, and Sport Alpin a full-day course, because the group keeps practising in the afternoon.
At the Skischule Zell am See and Sport Alpin, beginners' group courses start on a Sunday or Monday, so plan your week around that. The Skischule Zell am See runs no group courses on Fridays and Saturdays, it says, except over Christmas and New Year. Over Christmas, its group courses start almost every day from 20 to 28 December 2026, and there are no group lessons on 1 and 2 January 2027. At Sport Alpin, beginners' courses start almost every day over Christmas and New Year.
Do you need your own equipment?
No, you can hire it. Neither the lift pass nor equipment is included in the course price at the Skischule Zell am See or Sport Alpin; at Outdo and Frost Center the lift pass is not included. The exception is the Skischule Zell am See's All in One packages: lessons with full equipment, up to 20% cheaper, online only and booked in good time before the course. For lift pass prices, see Zell am See ski pass prices for 2026/27.
For the Mini Club, children need skis, ski boots and a helmet, but no poles. Adult beginners need skis, boots, poles, a helmet and warm, waterproof clothing.
Hotel Der Schütthof has its own ski hire with 10% off, a ski pass service and a camera-monitored ski room, open from 6 am to 9 pm with your room key card; ski boots can stay there, but take helmets up to your room, as they sometimes get mixed up. There is more on ski holidays at Hotel Der Schütthof.
What if you have to cancel a lesson?
Cancel in good time and you get all or most of your money back. Sport Alpin counts its deadlines from your arrival date; the Skischule Zell am See and Frost Center from the start of the course.
| School | If you cancel |
|---|---|
| Skischule Zell am See, online bookings | A 10% cancellation fee up to 72 hours before the first lesson day; after that, up to 100% |
| Sport Alpin | Everything back less 5% up to 4 weeks before your arrival date; after that, no refund |
| Frost Center | Free up to 7 days before the course starts; 50% from 6 to 2 days before; 100% from 48 hours before, or if you do not turn up |
The Skischule Zell am See and Sport Alpin both offer cancellation insurance. At the Skischule Zell am See it costs about 2 to 3% of the booking and lets you cancel free of charge up to 24 hours before the first lesson day. At Sport Alpin it costs 10% of the booking: up to 2 days before your arrival you get everything back except the insurance, and after that 50% is charged.
For illness or injury, the Skischule Zell am See will only give a refund with a medical certificate; for group courses, it must be from a local doctor and shown straight away. There is no refund if you do not turn up, arrive late or drop out of a course.
If lessons cannot go ahead for safety reasons, such as the weather, the Skischule Zell am See and Sport Alpin refund the share of the course price under their terms; in cases of force majeure you choose between a credit note and a refund of the share. Frost Center offers another date where it can, and otherwise refunds the share not taught.
Ski schools in Kaprun
If you will ski mostly on the Kitzsteinhorn glacier or in Kaprun, choose a school that meets there. Schüttdorf is also a good base for skiing on the Kitzsteinhorn: the bus stop is 5 minutes on foot from the hotel.
Oberschneider's children's course in Kaprun takes ages 4 to 15 and always starts on a Sunday or Monday. From 20 December to 6 March it meets at the Lechnerberg lift in the centre of Kaprun; until 20 December and from 7 March, on the Kitzsteinhorn glacier (Ski Dome II, 2,000 m, at the top of the Gletscherjet 1 and the 3K K-ONNECTION). In the main season, 20 December 2026 to 5 March 2027, lessons last 4 hours with a lunch break. In the low season, 11 October to 18 December 2026 and 18 to 30 April 2027, they last 3 hours with no lunch break. Hotel Der Schütthof is closed from 26 October to 26 November 2026.
Small groups of up to 4 get 2 hours of teaching, much like a private lesson, in German, English or Dutch, and Oberschneider has instructors in 12 languages. It also gives a progress guarantee after 6 days of lessons, the school says, and booking early takes 5% off the lessons.
| Winter 2026/27, ages 4 to 15 | Standard price | Early-booking price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 day | €130 | €123.50 |
| 2 days | €260 | €247 |
| 3 days | €330 | €313.50 |
The tourism board also lists Hartweger's Ski & Snowboardschule, Bewegt Ski- und Sportcamp, Ski- & Snowboarding Kaprun Preghenella and Cold Candy Snowschool Kaprun. For adaptive lessons, the regional list also names UP Adaptive Ski School.
See free rooms and current rates in the hotel booking engine, or call reception with any question.
Booked with the hotel itself, no booking portal in between.
Frequently asked questions
Is there childcare with ski lessons?
Yes, as lunchtime supervision: at the Skischule Zell am See from 12 noon to 1 pm for €20 a day, with a hot lunch, a drink and supervision, booked at the school's offices; in the main season places can run short, the school says. At Frost Center, lunch, a drink and supervision are included in the children's course price. At Sport Alpin, lunchtime supervision for children is possible.
Do beginners need a lift pass?
Beginners do need a lift pass in principle, but not for the first one or two days at the areitXpress and the trassXpress, the Skischule Zell am See says. At the cityXpress you need one from the first lesson day, because the practice area is at the top station. Children born in 2021 or later ride free with an adult and get a free lift pass.
Do children have to wear a ski helmet?
Yes. Children must wear a helmet until their 15th birthday anywhere in the SalzburgerLand ski area, and parents or other supervising adults are responsible for this. Children without a helmet of their own can borrow one at ski schools and ski hire shops.
Sources
- Private lessons, ski and snowboard (Ski & Snowboardschule Zell am See)
- KIDS on Ski, children's courses for ages 4 to 11, in German (Ski & Snowboardschule Zell am See)
- MINI CLUB, ski course for ages 3 to 5, in German (Ski & Snowboardschule Zell am See)
- Ski course for adult beginners, in German (Ski & Snowboardschule Zell am See)
- FAQs, in German (Ski & Snowboardschule Zell am See)
- Terms and conditions, in German (Ski & Snowboardschule Zell am See)
- Ski school offices and ski hire shops, in German (Sport Alpin)
- Kiddy Club and children's ski school, in German (Sport Alpin)
- Group courses for adults, in German (Sport Alpin)
- Private lessons, in German (Sport Alpin)
- Terms and conditions, in German (Sport Alpin)
- Courses, online shop, in German (Frost Center)
- Children's ski group course with supervision, in German (Frost Center)
- Ski group course for adults, in German (Frost Center)
- Terms and conditions, in German (Frost Center)
- Ski and snowboard school prices, in German (Outdo)
- Children's ski school, in German (Outdo)
- Ski group course, in German (Outdo)
- Children's ski course in Kaprun, ages 4 to 15, in German (Skischule Oberschneider)
- Ski schools and ski courses in Zell am See-Kaprun, in German (Zell am See-Kaprun Tourismus)
- Ski schools and ski hire in Zell am See, in German (Schmittenhöhebahn AG)
- Winter season start 2026/27 on the Schmittenhöhe, in German (Schmittenhöhebahn AG)
- Winter tickets, Schmittenhöhe, in German (Schmittenhöhebahn AG)
- Alpine safety: helmets for children, in German (SalzburgerLand Tourismus)

Working in quality management, I am involved in all sorts of things at the hotel: sometimes at reception, sometimes in the office, and really wherever there is something to be done. For me, Zell am See is not just where I work; it is a place I have grown very fond of, with its mountains, its lake and some truly special moments. My personal highlight: a few runs on the Schmittenhöhe, with the glorious view over Zell am See and the surrounding mountains.
Checked on:




